Territorial Timeline: 1670-1713

1670 Hudson's Bay Co. grant
England by Royal Charter grants sole trading rights in the Hudson Bay drainage Basin to the Hudson's Bay Company.

1713 France yields Rupert's Land, Acadia, and Newfoundland
By the Treaty of Utrecht, France cedes Acadia to Great Britain, retaining Īle Royale (Cape Breton Island) and Īle Saint-Jean (Prince Edward Island). Britain calls the territory acquired 'Nova Scotia', however, due to difficulties in interpreting the actual size of Acadia, possession of present day New Brunswick is disputed. Also by the treaty, France recognizes British rights to Rupert's Land, with some dispute as to the exact extent of the area. France also relinquishes interest in Newfoundland, except fishing rights, to Great Britain.