Territorial Timeline: 1920-1949

1920 Northwest Territories districts changed
The boundaries of the districts within the Northwest Territories are redescribed.

1925 Canada claims larger part of Arctic
Canada officially claims a larger sector of the Arctic.

1927 Québec/ Labrador boundary defined
The boundary between Canada and Newfoundland is defined by the Imperial Privy Council. Canada accepts the definition, but Québec does not accept the southern portion of the boundary.

1949 Newfoundland joins Confederation
Newfoundland narrowly votes to join confederation in a 1948 referendum, and officially becomes the tenth province the following year by the Newfoundland Act.